• Curriculum Overview 2019-20

    Curriculum Overview 2019-20

    At Etone College, our aim is to provide each of our learners with a broad and balanced curriculum which inspires them to succeed. The design of our curriculum, as set out by the National Curriculum, enhances all aspects of their education, including the humanities and linguistic, mathematical, scientific, technical, social, physical and artistic learning.

    In addition to this, we are proud to equip our pupils with the core skills that they will need for the world of work and their future careers. Our curriculum is therefore designed around the top 8 key employability skills: these are fundamental to all that we do and underpin all aspects of our curriculum. Our employability skills are transferable to many different areas of the workplace and society.

    The eight skills are: Communication, Teamwork, Resilience, Problem Solving, Organisation, Initiative, Numeracy and Technology.

    Key Stage 3

    At Key Stage Three, the curriculum builds on the knowledge, understanding and skills that pupils have acquired at Key Stage Two. Our aim is to develop pupils' knowledge across all subjects, equipping them with the necessary skills in order to progress. We give a particular focus to enhancing literacy and numeracy (4 lessons per week for English & Mathematics). There is also a strong emphasis on the importance of Ebacc subjects with 3 lessons per week for Science and 2 lessons per week for Modern Foreign Languages (French & German), Geography and History.

    In order to support the development of creative and technical skills, pupils also have lessons in Art, Music, Technology, Food, IT, Computer Science and Business. We also promote the importance of physical development and healthy living with 2 lessons per week of Physical Education and a further lesson a week in Performing Arts.

    Key Stage 4

    In Year 9, we ask pupils to make informed choices about which subjects they would like to study at Key Stage Four. Every pupil is placed into one of four pathways which helps guide them towards courses which are appropriate for their ability.

    At Key Stage Four, the curriculum continues to develop and extend the knowledge and skills that our pupils gain in Key Stage Three. In addition, the curriculum is designed to prepare our pupils for the examinations they will take at the end of Year 11.

    All of our pupils study: English language, English literature, Mathematics, Science (Combined award or the three separate subjects of Biology, Chemistry and Physics), core Physical Education and Learning for Life. From their option process in Year 9, pupils choose 4 additional options from the following courses: Art, Business studies, Geography, History, Information Technology, Computer Science, Media, Psychology, Technology, Child Development, Photography, French, German, Spanish, Sports, Performing Arts and Health and Social Care. Each year has a different combination of subjects depending on the choices made.

    As a school, we ensure that we offer appropriate progression pathways from Key Stage 4 to allow our pupils to continue their education in our sixth form.

    Key Stage 5

    At Key Stage Five, we provide students with the opportunity to continue their studies to A-level and/or BTEC Level 3. Our Sixth Form curriculum comprises of 5 option blocks. Students who demonstrated at Key Stage Four that they have the potential for further study, are able to choose from a wide range of subjects including both A levels and more vocational courses (subject to demand, viability, staffing, timetabling and individual GCSE grades). The curriculum option blocks have also been specifically designed so that they support particular career pathways and subjects which have similar skill sets.

    Learning for Life

    Our Learning for Life programme addresses PSHE, Citizenship, Careers, Religious Education and Sex and Relationships topics. Pupils have one hour a week and some form time in which they are able to learn about these fundamental areas. Lessons encourage pupils to develop their own attitudes and values whilst showing respect and tolerance for others. In doing so, we equip pupils with the knowledge and skills required to take their place as responsible members of a modern British society.

    British Values / SMSC / CIAG

    At Etone College, our aim is to promote an ethos and culture which supports the key British values of:

    – Democracy

    – The rule of law

    – Individual liberty

    – Mutual respect

    - Tolerance for those of different faiths and beliefs.

    Through our provision of SMSC, which is embedded into our curriculum and is explicit in Schemes of Learning, Etone College:

    • enables pupils to develop their self-knowledge, self-esteem and self-confidence;

    • enables pupils to distinguish right from wrong and to respect the civil and criminal law of England;

    • encourages pupils to accept responsibility for their behaviour, show initiative, and to understand how they can contribute positively to the lives of those living and working in the locality of the school and to society more widely;

    • enables pupils to acquire a broad general knowledge of and respect for public institutions and services in England;

    • Further establishes tolerance and harmony between different cultural traditions by enabling pupils to acquire an appreciation of and respect for their own and other cultures;

    • encourages respect for other people; and encourages respect for democracy and support for participation in the democratic processes, including respect for the basis on which the law is made and applied in England.

    If you have any concerns or queries regarding the curriculum, please contact Mr. J. Chauhan.
  • English

  • Maths

  • Science

  • Art & Design

  • Learning for Life

  • Computing

  • Design & Technology

  • Languages

  • Geography

  • History

  • Music

  • Physical Education

  • Business

  • Media

  • Psychology

  • Sociology

  • ICT

  • BTEC Law